What are the Regions of the Dominican Republic?

Last Updated on June 17, 2022 by Helen E. White

What are the Regions of the Dominican Republic: The Dominican Republic is a Caribbean country bordered to the north by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south by the Caribbean Sea, to the west by Haiti, and the east by Puerto Rico through the Mona Passage.

What are the Regions of the Dominican Republic

This country has an area of ​​48,730 km² and is divided into three regions: North Region or Cibao, Southeast Region and Southwest Region.

See More: Most Beautiful Beaches in the Dominican Republic

The Regions of the Dominican Republic Are 3:

1. North Region or Cibao

The North Region or Cibao is made up of:

  • Santiago.
  • The Vega.
  • Puerto Plata.
  • San Francisco de Macoris.
  • Duarte.
  • Valverde.
  • Maria Trinidad Sanchez.
  • Santiago Rodriguez.
  • Monte Cristi.
  • Dajabón.
  • Espaillat.

The Cibao region is characterized by being located in the northern part of the Dominican Republic, covering 19,100 km². Agriculture is worked in this Dominican area thanks to its fertile soils.

Cibao means “place where rocks abound”, a name given by the Spanish motivated by the fact that this area is located in the Central Cordillera full of valleys and mountains.

2. Southwest Region

The Southwest Region is made up of:

  • Barahona.
  • The Starlet.
  • Independence.
  • Flints.
  • San Juan de la Maguana.
  • Bahoruco.

This area of ​​the Dominican Republic is characterized by having the most natural beauty such as mountains and beaches, ideal for ecotourism. Some of these places are the Isla Cabritos National Park and the Los Patos and San Rafael spas.

See also  Where to Stay in Ljubljana

See More: Best Places to Visit in the Dominican Republic

In this part of the Dominican Republic, which covers 13,180 km² of surface, there are also writers and plastic artists who work with larimar stones, metals and other materials originating in the province of Bahoruco.

3. Southeast Region

The Southeast Region is made up of:

  • Santo Domingo.
  • Peravian.
  • San Cristobal.
  • The Roman.
  • San Pedro de Macoris.
  • The Altagracia.
  • The Seib.

This region has an area of ​​14,740 km² and limits to the north with Cibao and to the south with the Caribbean Sea. Its economic activity is focused on the cultivation of rice, tobacco, corn, peanuts and beans.

Also, this part of the Dominican Republic is located the largest number of cement and chemical fertilizer factories, and particularly higher education has developed vertiginously.

Leave a Comment