What are the Regions of Honduras?

Last Updated on January 11, 2023 by Helen E. White

What are the Regions of Honduras: Honduras has a territorial division that seeks to group the departments according to their relief, the characteristics of the population, and the economic activities that are carried out.

What are the Regions of Honduras

The regions of Honduras are 6:

1. Western Region

The Western Region is made up of:

  • Ocotepeque.
  • Copan.
  • Lempira.

This region is characterized by a mountainous relief where the Sierras de Merendón, Gallinero and Espíritu Santo meet. This characteristic makes the climate humid. In the same way, in this area is one of the most important ruins of the Mayan civilization: the Copán Ruins, which were declared a World Heritage Site by Unesco.

The Western Region of Honduras is characterized by having a large number of tourist attractions, as well as the delicious coffee that is grown on these lands. Among the places that are widely visited are the Macaw Mountain Park, which is a bird reserve that seeks to protect mainly parrots, parrots and the national bird: the scarlet macaw.

2. Northwest Region

The Northwest Region is made up of:

  • Cuts.
  • Saint Barbara.
  • Yoro.

Like the Western Region, the relief of this region is characterized by having mountains and valleys. Among them, the Sierra Nombre de Dios stands out because it is home to the famous Pico Bonito, which is 2,435 meters above sea level. On the other hand, this region also has various natural monuments such as Lake Yojoa, which is the only natural lake in Honduras.

In this region is the city of San Pedro Sula, which has the greatest economic importance in Honduras. In this and the different cities of the region, agriculture of various items is carried out, among which vegetables, sugar cane and oranges stand out.

See also  What Are the Best Beaches in North Brazil

3. Northeast Region

The Northeast Region is made up of:

  • Atlantis.
  • Colon.
  • Thanks god.
  • Bay islands.

The Honduran coastal plain is located in this area, which is why a large number of beaches are located in this region. Among the economic activities that take place in the region are mainly tourism and the cultivation of African palm, coconuts, bananas and pineapples. It should be noted that this Honduran region has a great African influence because during the Spanish conquest, the banana companies settled in this region.

See More: Most Beautiful Beaches in the Dominican Republic

The main tourist attraction of the region is its beaches, mainly those located in Roatán. However, it also has several natural parks that serve as a reserve for a large number of exotic animals native to Honduras. Among them are the Pico Bonito National Park, the Cuero y Salado Natural Reserve and the Lancetilla Botanical Garden.

4. Central-Western Region

The Central-Western Region is made up of:

  • Intibucá.
  • Comayagua.
  • Peace.

This area is made up of a mountainous relief, which is why the entire region is crossed by various mountain ranges, among which Comayagua, Montecillos and Opalaca stand out. This region is noted for its agriculture and mining. However, this last activity has been declining in recent years due to the great environmental impact produced by said exploitation.

Among the items grown in this region are coffee, strawberries, peaches and mangoes. Similarly, the second largest cement company in Honduras is located in the department of Comayagua. Thus, this region also has various tourist attractions, among which are the Quiscamote Public Baths and the Archaeological Route of La Paz.

See also  Where to Stay in Madrid for Sightseeing

5. Central-Eastern Region

The Central-Eastern Region is made up of:

  • Francisco Morazan.
  • The Paradise.
  • Olancho.

This region, like the previous ones, has a mountainous relief and is crossed by the Lepaterique, Misoco and Agalta mountain ranges. It should be noted that the most important political center of the country is located here, since Tegucigalpa, the Honduran capital, is located here. One of the main activities that take place in this area is tourism since various historical monuments such as the Virgin of Suyapa Basilica are located in the capital.

In this area, natural parks and protected reserves are also widely visited, among which La Tigra National Park stands out, which is one of the largest natural reserves in the region. Another attraction is the Cuevas de Talgua Catamacas which have large limestone formations.

6. South Region

The South Region is made up of:

  • Choluteca.
  • Valley.

This is the smallest region of Honduras and is characterized by having a combination of flat and mountainous relief. This is due to the fact that the Dipilito and Lepaterique mountain ranges are found there, and in turn has a coastal area. The main economic activity in this region is agriculture and the processing of shrimp and cotton. In the same way, as it has coasts, the fishing activity is carried out by the inhabitants of the region.

Among the most outstanding tourist attractions in this region are the beaches of Coyolito and Playa Negra.

Leave a Comment