What are the Continents of the World?

Last Updated on November 7, 2022 by Helen E. White

What are the Continents of the World: The countries of the world are grouped into continents. Formerly, the continents were a large land mass that was united and was known as “Pangea”. Over the years, due to the various movements of the tectonic plates, it was divided into the five continents that we know today.

What are the Continents of the World

These groupings are agglomerations of countries that are characterized by having marked cultural and historical traits.

The continents that make up the world are 5:

1. Asia

The Asian Continent is made up of:

  • Afghanistan
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Republic of Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei
  • Butane
  • Cambodia
  • Qatar
  • China
  • Cyprus
  • North Korea
  • South Korea
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Filipinas
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Irak
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • Syria
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Tajikistan
  • Timor Oriental
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turkey
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen

This continent has the largest land area in the world and is located in the northern hemisphere of the planet. Its geography is divided into five regions and among its relief, you can find archipelagos, depressions and mountain ranges. Among them, the Himalayas can be highlighted, which is the highest in the world, and Everest peak is located there, which is more than 8 thousand meters high.

This continent is the most populous in the world and its ancient empires played an important role in the history of the old continent.

See also  Where to Stay in Washington Dc

2. Africa

The African Continent is made up of:

  • Angola
  • Algeria
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Ivory Coast
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Little ones
  • Morocco
  • Mauricio
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Central African Republic
  • Republic of Congo
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Rwanda
  • Occidental Sahara
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leona
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Yibuti
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Africa is located in the southern part of the planet. In the same way, it is the third largest continent, in terms of surface. This continent is characterized by having the most homogeneous relief compared to the others, presenting in its territory some mountains, deserts, forests and plains in which a large part of its native fauna inhabits.

This continent is of great importance at a historical level as it is the cradle of humanity. The same was the territory inhabited by the first Neanderthals, according to traces and research carried out over time in this area.

3. America

The American Continent is made up of:

  • Old and bearded
  • Argentina
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belice
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • The Savior
  • USA
  • Granada
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Dominican Republic
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • St. Lucia
  • Surinam
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

America is considered the second largest territory on the planet and covers the northern and southern hemispheres of the Earth. This continent is generally subdivided into North, Central, and South America. Each one has defined cultural, geographic and social traits. In this area, you can find a diversity of relief, including mountains, jungles, mountains and coasts that provide this area with wonderful landscapes.

See also  What to See in Aqaba

Similarly, this area also has great historical and cultural importance because the ancient Aztec, Mayan and Inca civilizations were established in these regions. It is for this reason that in various countries of America there are large constructions of these people and that they are considered a World Heritage Site, as is the case of Machu Pichu.

4. Europa

The European Continent is made up of:

  • Albania
  • Germany
  • Andorra
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia y Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Vatican City
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • North Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldavia
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
  • Czech Republic
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Sweden
  • Swiss
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine

Europe is located in the central hemisphere of the planet and is a very old continent. Their civilizations are spread all over the world. Its relief is based on a large central plain surrounded by some mountains. In addition to being crossed and bordered by a great diversity of rivers.

In addition, the capitals of countries such as the United Kingdom, Paris or Portugal are widely known for their solid economy, architecture and culture.

5. Oceania

The Oceanic Continent is made up of:

  • Australia
  • Better
  • Marshall Islands
  • Solomon Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Micronesia
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Palaos
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

This is the smallest continent and is made up of large and small islands located in the southern hemisphere. This area, like Africa, was the territory where the first settlers who emigrated lived.

See also  Where to Stay in Kuala Lumpur

Thus, its relief is characterized by not being rugged, that is, it does not have large mountainous formations. Likewise, it has three rivers around six lakes. It is the least populated continent on earth and its inhabitants come from diverse places. This is why it has great cultural wealth.

Leave a Comment