What Are the Regions of Uruguay?

Last Updated on June 10, 2022 by Helen E. White

What Are the Regions of Uruguay: Uruguay is geographically divided into regions, which group the departments according to their relief and the hydrographic basins that cross the country.

Regions of Uruguay

The 5 Regions of Uruguay

1. Northwest Region

The  Northwest Region is made up of:

  • Artigas.
  • jump.
  • Paysandu.
  • Black river.

This area includes the Uruguayan coast that extends from the Río Negro to the Cuchilla de Haedo. The relief in this area is characterized by a basaltic peneplain.

Thus, the northwest region is characterized by dedicating its economy to agricultural and livestock activities due to the warm climate that this area possesses and favors the production of mainly citrus fruits and derived products.

2. North Region

The North Region is made up of:

  • Rivera.
  • Tacuarembo.

This region is located in the sedimentary peneplain, which extends from Cuchillas de Haedo to the lake of the Río Negro. In it are various basins of the Río Negro and the Río Tacuarembó, which have torrential tributaries.

In this way, this region is characterized by having high rates of agricultural production and low rates of agricultural production, however, there is a small production of corn, peanuts and sunflowers.

3. Eastern Region

The East Region is made up of:

  • Long Hill.
  • Thirty-three.
  • Lavalleja.
  • Rocha.
  • Maldonado.

It is located between the crystalline peneplain and the Atlantic plain and its relief is characterized by having the largest slopes in the country and some mountain ranges.

See also  Where to Go in Morocco

The eastern region of Uruguay is crossed mainly by the Cebollatí River and the Laguna Merín basin. In addition, in the department of Maldonado are located some of the best beaches in Uruguay, among which Punta Ballena and Piriápolis stand out.

4. Center-South Region

The Central-South Region is made up of:

  • Peach.
  • Flores.
  • Florida.
  • Saint Joseph.
  • Cannelloni.
  • Montevideo.

This area is considered the tourist region of Uruguay and is located in the crystalline peneplain. In addition, it is the most populated area of ​​the country because it is where the nation’s capital is located.

Various rivers, beaches, mountains and meadows are located in this area, which gives this territory wonderful landscapes. In fact, it is considered that the largest number of animal and plant species in the country is preserved in this area. Its economic activity is dominated by tourism, livestock and agriculture. In addition to all the products derived from these industries, such as cheese, jams and preserves.

5. Southwest Region

The Southwest Region is made up of:

  • Soriano.
  • Colonia.

It is located in the western zone of the crystalline peneplain and is crossed by at least nine rivers and streams, among which the Río Negro and the Río de la Plata stand out.

This region is also widely known for its various tourist sites, including Colonia Sacramento, which is a colonial town with Portuguese architecture. Similarly, there are more than 10 museums that preserve great traces of Uruguayan history.

You May Also Like

See also  What You Can't Miss on a Beach Getaway

Leave a Comment